mosaic of hope

/mō-zā'ĭk/ artwork made by placing together small pieces of glass, stone, etc. of different colors

Meet Youjin Kim and Soyoun Lee!

Youjin Kim and Soyoun Lee are attending HIU as exchange students from Hope International University’s sister university, Myongji University, located in Seoul, South Korea.

Youjin Kim

Name: Youjin KimDSC_0783

Country: South Korea

Major: English Literature and Language

Grade: Junior

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Ulsan, South Korea for twenty years, and then I lived in Seoul for three years for attending university.

Why did you choose to study in America?

This is the best country to learn English, and I always dreamed of living in America when I was in middle and high school.

Why do you want to learn English?

Learning English is necessary for getting a job in Korea… That is why I’m majoring in English in Korea. And ultimately, I just like learning English.

How long will you be in America?

The full school year. I’m leaving in May or June.

What is the most surprising thing that you have seen or experienced in America?

Americans don’t care about how they look or what others think of them – it’s very carefree. And studying in America is not that stressful, but in Korea, it is very stressful and hard to enjoy college life.

What do you miss the most about Korea?

My parents and sister. I haven’t been here very long, so I don’t miss much.

What do you like the most about Korea?

Public transportation – you can travel anywhere. And free WiFi is everywhere!

What’s your favorite American and Korean food?

American: In n Out Burger.

Korean: Kimchi jjigae (kimchi stew)… And my mom’s cooking.

What do you want to do while in America?

By the end of the semester, I want to speak English well, enjoy American culture, and have fun with friends.

What are your hobbies?

Bike-riding, playing piano, listening to music. I’ve played piano for about nine years.

What is one little-known fact about yourself?

I was an ambassador of Myongji.

What did you have to do as ambassador?

I went to high schools and introduced my university to high school students; and when high school students came to Myongji to take the college entrance exam, I helped them and showed them where to go.

Soyoun Lee

Name: Soyoun Lee

Country: South KoreaDSC_0780

Major: English Literature and Language

Grade: Junior

Where did you grow up?

I was born in Korea, and when I was 2 months old, I move to Dubai for six years. Then I moved back to Korea in Gyeonggi Province – Goyang City

Why did you go to Dubai?

My father was sent to Dubai by his company.

Why did you choose to come to America?

Firstly, I dreamed of going to school in America, and I really want to travel a lot in America to broaden my vision and experience a lot. It could help me for my future. And I really want to be fluent in English.

Why do you want to be fluent in English?

When I was young, I lived in Dubai and went to an international school, so I spoke English well when I was a child. I want to be like that. And it is the required language for my future – it is really useful when I get a job.

How long will you be in America?

One year.

What is the most surprising thing that you have seen or experienced in America?

I’m not really surprised, but one thing that is different than Korea is cars wait for people to cross the street, and cars pull over for ambulances. And here is so peaceful.

What do you miss the most about your home country?

I miss my parents and my room because I’m alone. I like staying by myself in my room. And I miss Korean food.

What do you like the most about your home country?

Transportation. And I like Korean food. And my friends.

What’s your favorite American and home food?

American: Steak, pizza, huamburger. I love food. And desserts.

Korean: Samgyupsal (pork belly) and Kimchi jjigae (kimchi stew)

What do you want to do while in America?

Firstly, I want to have lots of American friends. And I want to travel a lot – really want to travel a lot. And experience a lot. And do well in my classes.

What are your hobbies?

I like searching the internet and watching movies. And shopping!

What is one little-known fact about yourself?

I traveled a lot when I was young… But I don’t remember. My father’s company supported traveling, so I’ve been France, Switzerland, Germany, Greece… And so on. But I can’t remember.

I do remember in France, I went to Palace of Versailles, but I hated it because of the garden. There were so many bugs and rain.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 22, 2014 by in Meet a global student.

Navigation

