mosaic of hope

/mō-zā'ĭk/ artwork made by placing together small pieces of glass, stone, etc. of different colors

Humans of Hope

A few months back I stumbled across a photoblog called Humans of New York (HONY).  This project was created by a young man, Brandon Stanton, who had a dream of capturing the heart and soul of New York, and in 2010 he did just that by deciding to move there and take photographs of locals.  Little did he know that his project would turn into something greater than he had ever expected.  He has not only taken thousands of pictures of strangers roaming the concrete jungle, but has also captured their stories.  He has captivated the hearts of millions all over the world with authentic and raw interviews of individuals who want or need to be listened to, loved and appreciated.  HONY is a big display of kindness and grace, and is a simple reminder that one of the most important things in life is to LOVE others, CELEBRATE others and RESPECT others for who they are, who they decide to be, what they decide to wear or what they decide to think and say.

Honestly, I did not realize the impact HONY would have on my life and the perceptions I have of others.  I was immediately stricken by its purpose and vibrant beauty, and felt it was my duty to share it with everyone I knew or came in contact with.  It was a simple idea that had great influence and depth.  I simply enjoyed every bit of it and here’s why:

  1.  I absolutely appreciated how honest and genuine people were willing to be.  People not only shared exciting experiences and stories, but their struggles.  It made me realize that I, too, should not be ashamed of who I am or the decisions I have made in any regard because my very own decisions and experiences have molded the person I am today.  They’ve molded ME.  Sometimes we feel alone and that nobody understands our pain and sometimes happiness, but that isn’t the case.  It’s up to us to be brave enough and share our stories.
  2. It is a strong reminder that the world is much bigger than ourselves.  I am not saying that our values and priorities are not important, but it is crucial to remember that there is a big world out there to experience.  Exploring not only gives us the opportunity to learn about others and what they value, but ourselves too.
  3. DREAM.  Brandon Stanton had an idea and went for it…so we should too!  This blog has truly inspired me to not limit myself and the plans I have now and for my future.  Nothing is out of reach.  We all have a purpose in this big-little world and it is up to us to recognize our passions, talents and potential.  Once we do, it’s up to us to make this world a better place and make a difference.

International Students Program (ISP) and the Intercultural Leadership Council (ILC) have teamed up and decided to undertake our very own HONY project called Humans of Hope.  Our desire is to capture authentic glimpses of students, faculty and staff.  We would like photographs and interviews to capture sides we may never see on a regular basis.  A true sense of self.  We attend a Christian university and often times we put up walls to hide who we really are from others because we fear what they might think.  But we HOPE that we can truly learn to love one another and ourselves from this experience. Just like God has loved us.

Here’s a quick preview of Humans of Hope and what to expect during Culture Celebration Week on March 24th-28th. E N J O Y !

 

“What do you want to be when you grow up?”

“I want to be a videographer, musician, dad, and umm, entrepreneur. Yeah.”

DSC_1933

 

“If you could do anything right now, no limitations, what would you do?”

“I’ll take…driving license and I go travel.”

“Travel where?”

“I want to go to San Diego, San Francisco and L.A.”

DSC_1899

 

“What’s the happiest moment of your life?”

“I don’t know. Every day is a happy day.”

DSC_1901

 

“What’s one of your greatest challenges at this point in time? “

“Staying sane. Is that an answer?”

DSC_1909[1]

 

And don’t forget to checkout Humans of New York at www.humansofnewyork.com

by Bree Garza

One comment on “Humans of Hope

  1. Rainbow
    March 14, 2014

    Love it, you’re the best!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 14, 2014 by in Humans of Hope.
